

May 26, 2023

Honorable Nancy Skinner Chair, Senate Budget Committee California State Senate 1021 O Street, Suite 8630 Sacramento, CA 95814 Honorable Phil Ting Chair, Assembly Budget Committee California State Assembly 1021 O Street, Suite 8230 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Chair Skinner and Chair Ting,

As members of the Bay Area Council, we are deeply committed to saving and improving our transit systems which is essential to our region's economic future. Despite the recent rise of remote work, residents of all income levels still depend on BART, MUNI, and transit systems across the region to access their jobs. If these impending service cuts make it so difficult for people to commute, we risk losing our workforce and our economic engine along with them. That is why the Bay Area Council has dedicated considerable resources to helping to lead the advocacy to secure state budget operating assistance to avert the transit fiscal cliff.

Yet this crisis also brings an opportunity to rebuild transit into a better service that meets the needs of residents now and for decades to come. As leaders of the State Legislature, this is your opportunity to have a role in making these systems better. You can require that transit operators that receive fiscal cliff emergency funds participate in rider improvement initiatives to improve customer experience and operator efficiency. You have leverage to compel desperately-needed improvements, and you can shape how they do it.

This is not a bailout, it is an investment in transforming our transit systems for the future.

We urge you to help us secure funding to avert the fiscal cliff and tie that money to improvements on the systems. This is a once in a generation opportunity to influence how transit operates in the Bay Area, and we hope you will take the chance to move our region forward.

Sincerely,

**Bay Area Council** Jim Wunderman President & CEO

Salesforce Zach Carstensen Senior Manager, U.S. State & Local Government Affairs

Visa Paul Russinoff Head of State and Local Government Engagement Hanson Bridgett LLP Kristina Lawson Managing Partner

**Google** Brendon Harrington Senior Director of Transportation

Wareham Development Rich Robbins President and CEO Bank of America Liz Minick Managing Director

**Bayer Pharmaceuticals** Jens H. Vogel, Ph.D. SVP and Global Head of Biotech

TMG Partners Michael Covarrubias Chairman & CEO **HNTB** Darlene Gee Senior Vice President

Montezuma Wetlands LLC Jim Levine Managing Partner

**BXP** Aaron Fenton Senior Vice President Development

Autodesk, Inc. Allison Rose Senior Director, Government Affairs & Public Policy

**Lighthouse Public Affairs** Boe Hayward Managing Member

**Reuben, Junius & Rose, LLP** Sheryl Reuben Attorney

**Clark Hill LLP** Timothy M. Flaherty Member in Charge San Francisco

**Tim Lewis Communities** Michael S. O'Hara Director of Forward Planning

**BOMA San Francisco** David Harrison Manager of Government and Public Affairs

SAMCEDA Rosanne Foust President and CEO **Golden State Warriors** Yoyo Chan Murphy Senior Vice President, Government Relations

MacKenzie Communications Janis MacKenzie President and CEO

Heller Manus Architects Eric Lundquist Vice President / CFO

**CSAA Insurance Group** Thomas Troy President and CEO

**Parsons** Ryan Hanretty Senior Director, Government Relations - West

Nor Cal Carpenters Union Jay Bradshaw Executive Officer

Rosendin Matt Englert COO

**Cargill, Inc.** Don Brown Land Resources Manager

Year Up Dr. Onllwyn Dixon Director of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging

SETI Institute W H Diamond President and CEO Waymo Michelle Peacock Head of Global Public Policy

**Arup** John Eddy Principal

Tishman Speyer Carl Shannon Senior Managing Director

**Delta Dental** Jeff Album Vice President, Public and Government Affairs

Lubin Olson LLP Charles Olson Managing Partner

Stanford University Shweta Bhatnagar Senior Director, Government Affairs

University of the Pacific Nader Nadershahi Dean & Vice Provost of Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry

Hacienda James Paxson General Manager

**Woodruff Sawyer** Stephen Gaitley Partner

Packsmith Ben Wunderman Co-Founder & CEO



USS Hornet Museum Capt Mark Epperson CEO **Exelixis** Drew Pannell Transportation Specialist **Chamber San Mateo County** Amy Buckmaster President & CEO

**Tidewater Capital** Ross Stackhouse Principal

CC: Members of the Bay Area Caucus